Facts for Voters

State and Congressional Level Offices

Governor: Honorable Glenn Youngkin (R)
(804) 786-2211; Web: www.governor.virginia.gov

Lieutenant Governor: Honorable Winsome Earle-Sears (R)
 (804) 786-2078; Web: www.ltgov.virginia.gov

Attorney General: Honorable Jason S. Miyares (R)
(804) 786-2071; Web: www.oag.state.va.us

Virginia General Assembly

Annual session convenes the 2nd Wednesday in January.
The GA is a bicameral legislature with 40 Senate members and 100 House of Delegates members.
Web: virginiageneralassembly.gov
During Sessions, Bill information at: Division of Legislative Services (804) 698-1470

State Senate

State senators have 4-year terms.

Monty Mason (D-1)
(804) 698-7501 District  (757) 229-9310
Email: district01@senate.virginia.gov
Web:  T. Montgomery “Monty” Mason

Mamie E. Locke (D-2)
Represents a portion of York County
(757) 825-5880
Email: district02@senate.virginia.gov
Web: Mamie E. Locke

Tommy K. Norment Jr. (R-3)
(804) 698-7503 District  (757) 259-7810
Email: district03@senate.virginia.gov
Web: Tommy K. Norment, Jr.

House of Delegates

State Delegates have 2-year terms. See Virginia House of Delegates Member Listings

A.C. Cordoza (R-91)
(804) 698-1091
Email: DelACCordoza@house.virginia.gov
Web: A.C. Cordoza

Mike Mullin (D-93)
(804) 698-1093 District  (757) 525-9526
Email: DelMMullin@house.virginia.gov
Web: Michael P. Mullin

Amanda Batten (R-96)
(804) 698-1096 District  (757) 741-7001
Email: DelABatten@house.virginia.gov
Web: Amanda E. Batten

United States Congress

United States Senate

  • Senator Tim Kaine (D): web: kaine.senate.gov
    Richmond Office: (804) 771-2221; DC Office: (202) 224-4024
  • Senator Mark Warner (D): web: warner.senate.gov
    Richmond Office: (804) 775-2314; DC Office: (202) 224-2023

United States House of Representatives

  • CD 1 Rob Wittman (R): web: wittman.house.gov
    Hanover Office: (804) 730-6595; DC Office: (202) 225-4261
  • CD 2 Elaine Luria (D): web: luria.house.gov
    Peninsula Office, Yorktown: (757) 364-7650; DC Office: (202) 225-4215

Local Government

Don’t forget about local government! These offices have a great deal of influence over our communities. Organized, consistent communication with these officials can shape public policy.

City of Williamsburg

General City of Williamsburg information.

Williamsburg City Council

School Board Officials (Williamsburg and James City County)

James City County

General James City County information.

JCC Board of Supervisors

Scott Stevens, JCC County Administrator
(757) 253-6602; Email: scott.stevens@jamescitycountyva.gov

York County

York County Board of Supervisors

Web site: www.yorkcounty.gov/bos

District 1: Walter C. Zaremba
(757) 890-3328; Email: zaremba@yorkcounty.gov
Represents Magruder, Queens Lake, and Waller Mill; other districts are outside of the Williamsburg area

District 2: Sheila S. Noll,  Vice Chair
(757) 890-3329; Email: noll@yorkcounty.gov

District 3: W. Chad Green,   Chair
(757) 890-3330; Email: Chad.Green@yorkcounty.gov

District 4: G. Stephen Roane, Jr.
(757) 890-3331 (voicemail); (757) 578-6649 (cell)
Email: stephen.roane@yorkcounty.gov

District 5: Thomas G. Shepperd, Jr.
(757) 890-3332; Email: shepperd@yorkcounty.gov

County Administrator: Neil Morgan
(757) 890-3320 Fax: (757) 890-4000
Email: ctyadm@yorkcounty.gov

York County School Board Officials

  • Mark J. Shafer, District 1: 757-879-6380
  • Brett Higginbotham (Chair), District 2: 757-897-0027
  • Laurel M. Garrelts (Vice Chair), District 3: 757-897-1923
  • James E. Richardson, District 4: 757-869-0573
  • Sean P. Myatt, District 5: 757-879-6465

Voting in Virginia

General elections are every November. Polls are open 6:00 AM to 7:00 PM.

  1. Check out the Election Information You Need at the League of Women Voters Education Fund’s website vote411.org. Or click on the Vote411 icon on this page. vote411.org includes information on elections, candidates, election laws, voting equipment, etc. – and covers all 50 states.
  2. Go to the Virginia Department of Elections for official voter information for our state.

Voting Registration

Register to Vote

For the most up to date information on registration, see the Virginia Department of Elections information on voter registration. Here you can begin the registration process.

At Virginia Department of Election’s online Citizen Portal, you can:

  • register to vote
  • check your registration status
  • find your polling place
  • apply to vote absentee

You can also call the Virginia Department of Elections at (804) 864-8901 [toll free (800) 552-9745].

Look up you local registrar here.

Questions can also be directed to your local Voter Registrar:

  • In the City of Williamsburg: contact Tina Reitzel at 757-220-6157
  • In James City County: contact Dianna S. Moorman at 757-259-4949
  • In York County: contact Walter Latham, Jr. at 757-890-3440.

Voting at the Polls – Voter ID

When voting, be sure to bring one form of acceptable voter ID. Valid forms include:

  1. Virginia driver’s license
  2. Virginia DMV-issued ID card
  3. Valid employee ID card, containing a photograph, issued by voter’s employer in ordinary course of business (public or private employer)
  4. U.S. Military ID
  5. Valid student ID issued by a public or private school of higher education located in Virginia
  6. Valid student ID, containing a photograph, issued by a public or private school of higher education located in the U.S.
  7. Valid student ID issued by a public or private high school in Virginia
  8. Valid U.S. passport or passport card Government-issued ID card from a federal, Virginia, or local political subdivision
  9. Voter ID card issued by the Department of Elections
  10. Voter confirmation documents
  11. Valid tribal enrollment or other tribal ID Yes, if issued by one of the 11 tribes recognized by Virginia.
  12. Nursing home resident ID
  13. Current utility bill, bank statement, government check, or paycheck containing the name and address of the voter
  14. Any other current government document containing the name and address of the voter
  15. Signed ID Confirmation Statement

Absentee Voting

Check the Virginia Department of Elections website for the most up-to-date information. 

Voter Protection Information

The LWV-VA is a member of the Election Protection Coalition which assists voters whose rights have been violated.  See 866ourvote.org

Email the Voter Services Chair